Home Annual Meeting Membership Officers Griffith Award Archives My Account Contact Us

Griffith Memorial Award

Each year during the SSPP Annual Meeting, two papers are given special recognition with the Richard M. Griffith Memorial Awards.


  • Applicants must either have received their Ph.D. no more than five years prior to the date of the annual meeting at which the paper is presented or must be current candidates for the Ph.D.
  • All Griffith Award applicants must be either SSPP members or applicants for membership in SSPP.
  • Although papers by one author are preferred, in certain circumstances papers by more than one author can be considered. In that case, the eligible nominee for the Griffith Award must be the first author, and it must be clear that the nominee contributed the vast majority of the effort to the project.

If you or one of your students qualifies under the stated rules, the Council encourages submission of a paper. Applicants for the Griffith Award must submit full papers prior to the annual meeting at which they present those papers.

The Griffith Award committee evaluates both the written paper and the presentation at the annual meeting to help determine the winners.

In addition to the award, winners also receive a cash prize of $300. The winners are announced and the cash awards are presented at the business meeting that concludes the conference.

Details are provided in the call for papers.

See Previous Award Winners

© Copyright 2023 by Southern Society for Philosophy and Psychology. Privacy Policy.